Merchant Plant - Generating Revenue

• Hamilton Steimer
  • Topic Author
More
17 Jul 2020 14:58 #8438 by Hamilton Steimer
Merchant Plant - Generating Revenue was created by Hamilton Steimer
Hi everyone,

I am new to SAM and trying to execute a solar PV "Merchant Plant," but I am uncertain how to generate revenues from electricity sales. I am trying to sell total production through the "Energy Market Revenue" option and none through the Ancillary Service Market Revenue option. 

Can someone explain how I would do that? Currently, no matter how I manipulate the Cleared Capacity and $/Mwh, I get the same error:  The generation is not sufficient to meet the ancillary markets requirements.  Specifically, sum of cleared capacity [X] MW exceeds system capacity 0 MW at timestep 0.

I appreciate all your input and advice!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Paul Gilman
More
17 Jul 2020 18:08 #8439 by Paul Gilman
Replied by Paul Gilman on topic Merchant Plant - Generating Revenue
Hi Hamilton,

There is a bug in the Merchant Plant model that we are working to fix for the next update to SAM 2020.2.29, which we hope to release by the end of this month (July 2020).

github.com/NREL/SAM/issues/346

Best regards,
Paul.

• Hamilton Steimer
  • Topic Author
More
17 Jul 2020 18:16 #8440 by Hamilton Steimer
Replied by Hamilton Steimer on topic Merchant Plant - Generating Revenue
Thank you very much for your quick reply! How much different is the PPA option? Could I have the PPA price set at retail electricity rates to create comparable revenue results to a plant under the "Merchant" option? 

• Paul Gilman
More
17 Jul 2020 18:24 #8442 by Paul Gilman
Hi Hamilton,