Importing inputs from SAM, Interdependent Variables, SSC versions

• Lukas Kriechbaum
  • Topic Author
More
03 Apr 2024 11:27 #13050 by Lukas Kriechbaum
Hello,

I'm new to the topic of SAM and PySAM. For importing inputs from SAM the current documentation of PySAM suggests using PySAM JSON exports or JSON for inputs exports. These can than later imported by looping through the contents of the JSON file:
for f, m in zip(file_names, modules):
    with open(dir + f + ".json", 'r') as file:
        data = json.load(file)
        # loop through each key-value pair
        for k, v in data.items():
            if k != "number_inputs":
                m.value(k, v)

However, for older PySAM versions I also found options to use PySSC's dict_to_ssc_table:
json_file_path = 'pvwattsdistcomm.json'
f = open(json_file_path)
dic = json.load(f)
pv_dat = pssc.dict_to_ssc_table(dic, "pvwattsv7")
grid_dat = pssc.dict_to_ssc_table(dic, "grid")
f.close()
pv = PVWatts.wrap(pv_dat)
grid = Grid.from_existing(pv)
grid.assign(Grid.wrap(grid_dat).export())

Which of the three options is the best to use? Which shall be avoided?

For me it was not so easy to find out which SSC my current SAM or PySAM version is using. It could be helpful if PySAM issues a warning if JSON files exported from SAM were created for a different SSC than the one used by the PySAM version.
It would be also nice, if the binaries of the different releases are available on downloads page .
For example PySAM 5.0.0 uses SSC288, the currently available binaries are SAM 2023.12.17 R1 (SSC290). But where can I download SAM 2023.12.17 (SSC288)?

In the examples to the interdependent variables one link refers to a PV System Design.txt file. However, all the text files in this folder have been converted to JSONs.

Many thanks for your answers in advance
Lukas

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Paul Gilman
More
03 Apr 2024 16:38 #13052 by Paul Gilman
Hi Lukas,