Pvsamv1: Importing the CEC Module Database

• Joseph M
  • Topic Author
More
05 May 2023 02:47 #12112 by Joseph M
Hi Everyone,

Overview:  I am a bit new to PySAM and the SAM software itself so I could be understanding the documentation incorrectly.  I was able to successfully understand and get a simple Pvwatts8 model to simulate using PySAM however I would now like to run a simulation using a Photovoltaic Detailed PV Model.   

Objective:  My end goal is to use PySAM to iterate through all of the Modules within the CEC Performance Model Database and run a simulation with each to provide an output of the Annual AC kWh production. 

Problem:  I have attempted to use a PySAM JSON to make the edits however no key value for module_name is available, I figured it would be better to run a module by default values instead.  I cannot seem to find an effective way of getting the module data from the database.

I am hoping to get the correct way to access the data within the CEC database so I can manipulate and run simulations using the modules within.  

Looking forward to seeing the responses.  Thank you in advance. 

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Paul Gilman
More
05 May 2023 17:42 - 05 May 2023 17:42 #12118 by Paul Gilman
Replied by Paul Gilman on topic Pvsamv1: Importing the CEC Module Database
Hi Joseph,

The CEC module library is part of the SAM user interface, so is not directly available through PySAM.

It would be easiest to do the analysis you describe using an LK script in SAM rather than PySAM. For more about LK, see sam.nrel.gov/lk-script.html. For example, this simple LK script reads the current module library item, and then changes it:
module = get('module_name');
outln(module);

set('module_name', 'SunPower SPR-310-WHT-U');

module = get('module_name');
outln(module);