SSC Module PVWattsv5_1ts vs pvsamv1 and shading

• Stephen Peters
  • Topic Author
More
22 Nov 2016 17:33 #4951 by Stephen Peters
SSC Module PVWattsv5_1ts vs pvsamv1 and shading was created by Stephen Peters
Hello,

I am fairly new to using SAM and the SDK so please bare with me. (and if there is some documentation I have missed please point me that way)

I am using the python SSC API and would like to incorporate shading into the time series predictions I am making. I understand that SAM has the ability to incorporate shading via the pvsamv1 module.

If I switch to using this module I get an error saying "precheck input: variable 'solar_resource_file' required but not assigned time -1".

I have not assigned 'solar_resource_file' as I am feeding in the resource data and using the SSC to make a prediction one timestamp at a time, as seen below.

Is it possible to use pvsamv1 in a similar way I am using PVwattsV5_1ts? If not is there a way to incorporate self-shading losses into the PVwatts calculations based on the parameters I have such as fixed or tracker, GCR, tilt?

Any help would be great!! Thanks in advance!

#### example code ####

for idx, row in solarData.iterrows():
year = row.year
month = row.month
day = row.day
hour = row.hour
dni = row
diffuse = row
temp = row
wndspd = row

poaIn, tcellIn, dcIn, acIn = self._samSDK(year, month, day, hour, self.min_past_hour, self.lat, self.lon, self.tz, dni, diffuse, temp, wndspd, self.track, poaPrev)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Paul Gilman
More
22 Nov 2016 22:32 #4952 by Paul Gilman
Replied by Paul Gilman on topic SSC Module PVWattsv5_1ts vs pvsamv1 and shading
Dear Stephen,

For documentation of both SAM's detailed photovoltaic model and PVWatts, please see the Performance Model documentation page:

sam.nrel.gov/performance