expected vs. actual PV Watts

• mhylden
  • Topic Author
More
24 Sep 2013 20:51 #1831 by mhylden
expected vs. actual PV Watts was created by mhylden
I am attempting to use SAM to compare expected output from a solar array to actual production. The array has a weather station located on site, so I am able to get total radiation values from the weather station. I am trying to pass this into the C# wrapper for the SCC module "pvwattsfunc" to get the snapshot value of the expected ac power.

For the snapshot time I am attempting to test with, the calculated poa value comes back as 251.3582 W/m2, which seems reasonable given the measured sol value of 263.4 W/m2 from the weather station. The expected ac power, however, returns as 167,139.1 W vs the measured output from the array at that time of 45,500 W. The total system nameplate capacity is 858kW.

I don't have reason to believe that the array is actually performing that poorly, but rather than since I'm new to PVWatts and SAM that I am doing something wrong with my input parameters. I put the weather station solar value into both the current beam and the previous step poa value, although I don't think that the previous step should matter since I'm just taking one value at a time.

Any suggestions or recommendations would be appreciated. My input parameters from code are listed below for reference.

Thanks in advance,

Mikkel

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• mhylden
  • Topic Author
More
25 Sep 2013 15:29 #1832 by mhylden
Replied by mhylden on topic expected vs. actual PV Watts
One correction - my values were low because I had thought the production value was already ac watts, when in fact it was Wh for a 15 minute period. Of course, that means that now my values are generally higher than predicted by the SAM module.