Questions about the Battery Cycle counting algorithm

• Arthur800
  • Topic Author
More
01 Apr 2022 05:04 #10790 by Arthur800
Hello, I'm studying the SAM Battery Model, and I am focusing on the Lifetime Model. I already know that the SAM uses a rainflow counting algorithm to count the amount of cycles passed. I'd would like to know if the rainflow counting algorithm specifically used on SAM is available on the Github repository ( I couldn't find it at  github.com/NREL/ssc/blob/develop/shared/lib_battery.cpp ). I'm asking this because I tried to implement a separate cycle counting in Python with some open source library for rainflow counting and outputs obtained from simulations in SAM (total charge, SOC, DOD, average DOD), and I'm getting strange results that I would like to compare with the code SAM would use. Regarding this matter, how sound would it be to choose the SOC hourly output for cycle counting instead of average DOD? Because the two variables don't seem to exactly compliment each other in the results tables (and I must be missing some grasp on the output calculations.)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• pgilman
More
01 Apr 2022 16:44 - 01 Apr 2022 17:55 #10798 by pgilman
Hi Arthur,

You can use the citation on p. 8 of DiOrio, N.; Dobos, A.; Janzou, S.; Nelson, A.; Lunstrom, B. (2015). Technoeconomic Modeling of Battery Energy Storage in SAM. 32 pp. NREL/TP-6A20-64641 ( PDF 2.6 MB ) to find a description of the rainflow algorithm SAM uses for the battery life model (it is listed as S. Downing and D. Socie, "Simple Rainflow Counting Algorithms," International Journal of Fatigue, 1982.)

The code for SAM's rainflow algorithm is here:

github.com/NREL/ssc/blob/892b81b46a66a81ed6d357bc802dd82318372c4b/shared/lib_battery_lifetime_calendar_cycle.cpp#L119