We will be performing a major infrastructure and web site ugprades on Friday, September 27th 8:00 am - 5:00 pm MST (UTC -7).

The website will be down during that time.

Questions about CoPylot Variable Handling and the Battery Model

• Arthur800
  • Topic Author
More
09 Mar 2022 05:41 #10663 by Arthur800
Hello, I'm studying both SAM Li-On Battery Model and CoPylot algorithms to develop research on renewable energy plants, and I'd like to divide my questions into two parts:

1. Battery Model:  
So as to get a better grasp of the manual dispatch algorithm, I've read and studied the source codes provided on Github, and I've understood the hourly iteration as such:
1. At the beginning of the time step 0, the algorithm sets the initial voltage and the initial charge for the bank.
2. for the time step 0, the maximum discharge/ charge is calculated as a function of max and min SOCs, the actual charge and the voltage of the bank.
3. The voltage at the end of the time step and the current are found by solving P = VI and the electrochemical model simultaneously. The new charge is calculated from q = q - I *deltaT.
4. the final charge and voltage values are then used as initial values for the next iteration.
I followed this reasoning and tried to make my own implementation for it on Python, without PySAM. it correctly predicted the quantities at timestep 0 for the example file here, but I noticed something odd. According to the controller equations, the maximum discharge power at timestep 1 should be P = inverter_efficiency*max_scheduled_rate*voltage(q-qmax*SOCmin*0.01):
P = 0.96*0.25*525.0.33(351847 - 3.2*149880*0.15) ~= 35270.2 kW. However, the maximum available power for discharging remains the same as for time step 0 (approx 51312 kW). What would be the mistakes I might be making in my interpretation of the code? 

2. The CoPylot Code:
One of my current tasks is to apply CoPylot for this structure:
1. Generate a layout based on annual TMY2 file;