We will be performing a major infrastructure and web site ugprades on Friday, September 27th 8:00 am - 5:00 pm MST (UTC -7).

The website will be down during that time.

Detailed Financial Model

• Mkatz
  • Topic Author
More
12 Aug 2020 16:34 #8545 by Mkatz
Detailed Financial Model was created by Mkatz
I am using SAM for an internship so I'm still learning how to use some parts of the program. I've been using Helioscope to design and layout solar PV projects and SAM to create financial models for the projects, particularly the cash flows over time, as a detailed PV model with my firm acting as a third party, host-developer. However, after running the simulations and viewing the report, both the host and developer after-tax cash flows show the cost of the project in year zero as negative because SAM assumes that my firm is paying for the project, instead of the client paying for the cost of the project. This alters the cash flow projections and changes the length of time it will take for the system to pay for itself. How do I correct this problem on the report so that my firm does not cover the cost of construction. 

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• pgilman
More
13 Aug 2020 00:03 - 13 Aug 2020 00:05 #8560 by pgilman
Replied by pgilman on topic Detailed Financial Model
Hi Matthew,

Please see the Financial Parameters, Third Party Host / Developer topic in SAM's Help system. It describes the way the model works, which I think explains why the cash flows look as they do: