We will be performing a major infrastructure and web site ugprades on Friday, September 27th 8:00 am - 5:00 pm MST (UTC -7).

The website will be down during that time.

Levelized cost of energy calculation

• tibovansnickt
  • Topic Author
More
23 Nov 2018 11:00 #6515 by tibovansnickt
Levelized cost of energy calculation was created by tibovansnickt
Hello everyone,
I'm a Master student at the University in Belgium and I am currently researching the impact of a new legislation regarding PV-installations on the LCOE of a Solar system in Belgium.
The problem:
The government is changing the legislation regarding the way you get compensated for having a PV-installation. In the old system there was a way where the electrical meter would be turning back so in case you consumed 3000 kwh and had an PV-installation of 3000 kwh you would have an invoice of 0 € at the end of the month.
Now they are changing the system as to where you can still keep the fact that your meter turns back but only for the price of the electricity firm. The distribution tariff you now still have to pay for the total amount you have taken from the grid for the total year. In this case the concept of self-consumption also starts to play an important part since that way you don't have to pay the distribution tariff since you did not take anything from the grid.
So my questions are:
- How can I integrate those revenue streams in my LCOE-model? Since LCOE is elektricity produced (Kwh) / Cost of electricity (€) I cannot seem those revenue streams at electricity produced since it's only a Kwh metric.
- Do I have to put the 384 distribution cost as a cost also?
- Can I model this in the System Advisor Model in any way?