We will be performing a major infrastructure and web site ugprades on Friday, September 27th 8:00 am - 5:00 pm MST (UTC -7).

The website will be down during that time.

Importing 3D scenes, complex 3D scene drawings, and facades

• Chowan
  • Topic Author
More
12 Mar 2018 20:32 #6131 by Chowan
Hello,

I am new to SAM. I was wondering if there was any way to import a complex 3D drawing (say 3 buildings with different types of rooftops) into the 3D shade calculator? Is the only 3D file type that SAM can read only .s3d format? I have tried opening the shade calculator and that was the only option.

Also, will it be able to give outputs for each individual rooftop for the 3 buildings? Or do I have to run 3 separate analyses? Is there a limitation to the complexity of a scene?

Lastly, can SAM analyze PV's installed on facades?

Sorry for all the questions, I am trying to learn SAM and understand it's functionalities for my thesis.

Cheers,
A.C.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• pgilman
More
13 Mar 2018 20:51 #6132 by pgilman
Dear A.C.,

SAM's 3D Shade Calculator stores and reads 3D scene data from files in the .s3d format. It cannot directly read files in other formats. The LK scripting functionality does make it possible for you to write your own file reader to create a scene from data in a file with a different format, but we do not have that functionality built in to the user interface.