We will be performing a major infrastructure and web site ugprades on Friday, September 27th 8:00 am - 5:00 pm MST (UTC -7).

The website will be down during that time.

Negative NPV in PPA

• TymB
  • Topic Author
More
11 Sep 2017 16:11 #5702 by TymB
Negative NPV in PPA was created by TymB
Hi,

I'm new to SAM and third party Power Purchase Agreements for Solar PV.

Is there anything else than the first year PPA price which would change the NPV of a project to be negative? Currently my NPV is -$145,000 with $0.125/kWh. If I bring the 1st year PPA price to $0.06/kWh NPV is $32,311.

I'm also confused why there is no simple payback.

Please Help

Thanks!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• pgilman
More
11 Sep 2017 20:52 #5703 by pgilman
Replied by pgilman on topic Negative NPV in PPA
Hello,

For the third party financing model, the NPV is the present value of the project's after tax cash-flow, which depends on the agreement cost and value of electricity bill savings.

For a given system size and load, the NPV should depend on both the PPA price (which determines the agreement cost) and the rate structure on the Electricity Rates page. Changing either of those should change the NPV.

We did not to include a payback period metric for this financial model because it does not involve an initial investment by the homeowner that is recuperated by electricity bill savings. Instead, the homeowner makes lease or PPA payments in exchange for a reduction in the electricity bill. If the payments are higher than the reduction, the NPV is negative and indicates the project is not in the homeowner's interest. If the bill savings are higher than the lease or PPA payments, then the NPV is positive, indicating that the project is worthwhile from the homeowner's perspective.

Best regards,
Paul.

• Wengpin
More
12 Aug 2021 11:16 #9925 by Wengpin
Replied by Wengpin on topic Negative NPV in PPA
Hi Paul,