We will be performing a major infrastructure and web site ugprades on Friday, September 27th 8:00 am - 5:00 pm MST (UTC -7).

The website will be down during that time.

Questions about Power Tower Design, Heliostat Design, and CSP/PV Hybridization

• Arthur800
  • Topic Author
More
26 Nov 2021 03:20 #10314 by Arthur800
Hello, I hope this post finds you well.  I'm running research on the design and building of dispatch strategies of hybrid CSP-CRS(Power Tower)/PV plants. Thus, I'm studying the operating principles of the "Detailed PV" and "Power Tower" models, even though the SAM software does not allow hybridized dispatch per se. For such a goal, I initially managed to implement a standalone PV model in Python (with both PVLIB libraries and PySAM). For the CSP part, I managed to implement it in PySAM, but as I can't change the underlying operation codes with it, I thought about using CoPylot to obtain the heliostat field layout and use the energy output from the receiver as an input to my own subsequent implementations of the CSP blocks. At this moment, I have questions about the understanding of the software:

- Does SolarPILOT/CoPylot itself allow the extraction of receiver total power output available to the rest of the system? I understand the software may use a finite number of days from the meteorological file to find the optimized heliostat field layout, but once I obtain this final layout, can this software alone calculate the losses from the receiver and let the user obtain and export the total power given by the receiver (minus piping and heat losses) over all the hourly steps from the meteorological file? I can't seem to find this kind of option in the SolarPilot Application, nor I can find it on the CoPylot. If this functionality doesn't exist in SolarPilot, how sound would it be to extract output values from the receiver power outputs from PySAM as an input to my would-be power cycle custom models?