We will be performing a major infrastructure and web site ugprades on Friday, September 27th 8:00 am - 5:00 pm MST (UTC -7).

The website will be down during that time.

CSP power cycle modeling

• asailor
  • Topic Author
More
12 Mar 2015 18:09 #3165 by asailor
CSP power cycle modeling was created by asailor
Hi, I am a student using SAM for the first time to analyze dry cooling techniques for CSP. It doesn't seem like there are many outputs directly relating to air-cooled systems, so I am focusing on the power cycle model. Do you have any advice for investigating cooling methods more in depth?

In terms of the power cycle, I am trying to match values with a Rankine cycle analysis in Engineering Equation Solver (EES), but I'm running into some issues and have some questions that I hope you can help me with.

- Firstly, dis the Rankine cycle model on page 54 of the technical manual used to calculate SAM outputs?

- If so, is this system optimized for evaporative cooling?

- Do the number of turbine stages change based on the system you're trying to model? Or is there a way to manipulate that?

- When I input the design parameters outlined on page 55 of the technical manual in to EES, I find a discrepancy between mass flow rate and rated mechanical turbine output. When I constrain the mechanical work to be the 10 MW given value, I get a mass flow rate that is two orders of magnitude smaller. I didn't account for parasitic losses, but I don't think I should be seeing such a large error. Are these numbers found directly from this model or calculated in a different way?

Is there a better way I can confirm the values of each state in the Rankine cycle than what I am doing now?

Thanks for the help

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• mwagner
More
31 Mar 2015 16:01 #3166 by mwagner
Replied by mwagner on topic CSP power cycle modeling
Hello,

In SAM 2015.1.30, the outputs relating to the heat rejection system include:
* Condenser pressure (Pa)